Reading · Tags

Ruler of books tag

I was tagged by the lovely Tanya and Shanya of Twin Bookmarks to do the Ruler of Books tag, which was created by Ariel Bisset (check out her booktube channel!). This is my first ever tag and I’m so excited! I’ll tag a few bloggers at the end, but if you fancy doing this tag yourself just copy the questions and leave a link to your post in the comments, I’d love to see your answers.

Without further ado…

Ruler of books tag

What book would you make everyone read?

There are so many books I would love for everyone to read just so I could chat to them about them! But, I honestly think that everyone should read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. It’s such a beautiful and heartbreaking book, with a very honest depiction of loss and grief. The concept of the young victim telling her story from heaven is really clever and makes the story even more painful, but Sebold manages to make it such a touching book. The film with Saoirse Ronan is quite good too, but not a patch on the book.

The Lovely Bones

Curly blog divider

What would you abolish in book construction?

Everyone seems to be going for mid series cover changes (so annoying!), and non-standard heights making our bookshelves look wonky and uneven, so I’m going to go a different way. I would abolish the new trend of printing on super thin, Bible style pages. I know they are used to make really long books more manageable in size, but I am a closet page dog-earer, and the last thing I need is to think I’m going to tear the page by folding it! Or turning it. Or generally touching it. Only robust paper for me, please!

Curly blog divider

What author would you commission to write you any book?

As a major HP fan I can’t not say J.K. Rowling to this. She’s proven that she can write in several different genres – if you haven’t checked out her crime thriller series Cormoran Strike (written under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith) then you definitely should, the first three are being turned into a BBC mini series this Autumn.

I’d love to see what she could do with the YA genre, I know Harry Potter became less Middle Grade and more Young Adult as the series progressed, but I’d really like to read a YA fantasy, or even contemporary, as I know she’d do a brilliant job.

The Cuckoo's Calling

Curly blog divider

What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

I’m sorry to say that I am not a fan of the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard. It’s just not my taste, but I know lots of people love it. It’s too similar to so many other series in my opinion, it’s like a combination of The Hunger Games, The Grisha Trilogy and X Men, and with nothing new to add. It just isn’t for me, unfortunately.

Red Queen

Curly blog divider

What cover artist would you commission to make a mural?

I honestly absolutely adore the covers from the Red Queen series! It’s such a shame I don’t enjoy the books, because these covers are glorious.

Red QueenGlass SwordKing's CageCruel Crown

Curly blog divider

What characters face would you put on a coin?

It has to be Aelin Ashryver-Galathynius from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. She is the ultimate queen, and every queen needs her face on a coin. Maybe Rowan Whitethorn’s face could be on the tails side?

Curly blog divider

What book would you award the “Ruler of Books” 2016 Prize to?

The book that gave me the biggest book hangover of my entire life came out in 2016, and that was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I am desperate to get my hands on A Court of Wings and Ruin when it comes out next month! Maas is a genius in my opinion, her characters are so real and flawed, her dialogue is witty and hilarious, and she is the master of the fictional book boyfriend. I think we’re all agreed on Rhysand, right?

ACOMAF

I think I’d be a pretty magnanimous ruler of books! If you’ve done this tag before, or don’t fancy it, don’t worry! But if you do, I tag…

Kristi @ YA and Wine

Kelly @ Kelly’s Rambles

Jenn, Caitlyn & Eden @ Thrice Read

Blaise @ The Book Boulevard

Until next time!

Lyndsey

x

Curly blog divider

Camp NaNoWriMo word count: 11,854

 

Ruler of Books tag

6 thoughts on “Ruler of books tag

  1. Just read Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass and the Assassins Blade novellas and in awe of her writing skills. She has a way with words that is making me take greater care with my writing. As for her brilliant flawed characters, I just need to keep reading. Great blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely do, the series gets so much better as it goes along! She’s probably my favourite author at the moment, her ‘A Court of’ series is also phenomenal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

