Writing

Pitch Wars #pimpmybio

Hi guys! I’m entering Pitch Wars next month, which – for those of you who don’t know – is a competition where you submit your polished manuscript to up to four potential mentors, and if you’re chosen you get to work with a mentor for two months to perfect your manuscript and pitch for the agent round in November.

I’ve also entered #MenteesHelpingMentees, which is a pre-Pitch Wars raffle to win a query and first 10 pages edit by a past mentee. Wish me luck!

As part of the whole Pitch Wars event, Lana Pattinson has created the #pimpmybio blog hop, where participants share their bio and a brief summary of their WIP and both mentors and potential mentees can hop around and get to know everyone. From what I’ve seen, the biggest benefit of Pitch Wars is the community and the friendships that are formed, so I wanted to take part and hopefully make some new writer friends!

Pitch Wars #pimpmybio Lyndsey's Book Blog

About my WIP

Seventeen year old Aria Colling is a changeling. She’s the daughter of a king from the Fair Realm who hid her in the Human Realm as a baby to protect her from the wrath of her uncle, the evil Celeste King.

Weeks before her eighteenth birthday, she’s kidnapped by a group of Fair soldiers and taken on a long and perilous journey to the kingdom of her birth, where she must take the throne when her ailing father dies.

Along the way, she discovers the poverty and war the Fair have suffered for over a century, and soon realises that she may be the only one with the power to defeat the Celeste King and his army of dark creatures. If she isn’t betrayed by those she has come to think of as friends first.

divider-grey

It’s a YA portal fantasy for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Remnant Chronicles.

I completed the first draft in January and it’s been through several rounds of edits and beta reads to make it the best it can be! It’s my first novel so I’m looking for a mentor who can coach me through my first ever query experience. I love NaNoWriMo and work best with strict timelines and targets. Most of all I’m really excited to learn and improve my manuscript any way necessary!

About me

I studied Modern Languages at uni, including European Literature, and I’ve been working in marketing for the last five years.

Aged ten, I wrote a poem inspired by Roald Dahl’s Revolting Rhymes about Red Riding Hood, which the Ofsted inspector loved and took a copy to show round other local primary schools, so I think that means I’m destined for greatness πŸ˜‰

I live in Lincolnshire, England with my military husband and our pointer puppy, and when I’m not marketing, writing or reading I like to craft, cook and binge watch the latest Netflix craze.

divider-grey

I’m a huge YA fantasy fan, some of my favourite authors are Maggie Stiefvater, Leigh Bardugo, Cassandra Clare and Sarah J. Maas. I’m also an enormous Harry Potter fan, and can’t believe I have tickets to the Cursed Child play in December!

OK, that’s enough about me. If you’re taking part in Pitch Wars give me a wave in the comments and I’ll catch you on Twitter!

Lyndsey

x

Pitch Wars #pimpmybio Lyndsey's Book Blog

Advertisements

24 thoughts on “Pitch Wars #pimpmybio

  1. Ahhh! I’d love to see The Cursed Child! So exciting! #Ravenclaw4lyfe
    I’m a project manager but I’ve been wanting to get more into communications, PR, and marketing. What’s your favorite and least favorite part of your job?
    Your novel sounds so exciting! I love a good fairy world story! Good luck!

    Like

    1. Oof well I hate networking lol, I’m an introvert so stick me in front of a computer any day. My favourite is writing the blog (surprise, surprise!) and working on the website and presentations, stuff I can make look good and feel proud of 😊 it’s amazing when customers say “we find you online and checked out your website and blog and chose you” πŸ˜† especially as it’s an accounting firm so trust is really important. Good luck with Pitch Wars!! ☺️

      Like

  2. Best of luck with Pitch Wars. All the possibilities in the English bookcommunity are amazing. I wish we had things like this in our much smaller Dutch community.

    Do write a review of Cursed Child when you’ve seen it. I hope I can score some tickets in the future, even though I didn’t particularly love the script.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do you mean Dutch language, because anyone can enter from anywhere in the world, but I guess it has to be written in English.. I’ll definitely write a review, I got the script book as soon as it came out and I actually loved it so I’m really excited!! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh bless you πŸ˜‚ I think your English is fantastic! And I’m sure there’s proof readers and editors specifically for tidying up English as a second language type stuff. Either way, I’d love to read your novel when you eventually write it, even an English translation 😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I am! I missed the first couple of days unfortunately, but I’m really enjoying seeing everyone’s posts and getting to know the mentors and fellow hopefuls πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s